The Crazy Ones

I have been told that I’m crazy on many occasions. My response is always the same: “Thank you!”

IMG_20140816_193304I remember reading once that “no-one ever got famous for being boring” and I agree completely.

If you’re the one at school that others pick on, chances are you have something they don’t, or they want to be you, why?

Because, of course, you are different!

Often we waste so much time in our younger life trying to fit it, we forget to stop and think, because if we did take the time to think about it, we would realise that the people we admire, the people who set the world on fire, are the ones that stand out, that don’t really fit it and that might just be (at times) a little bit crazy!

The truth is that we are all a little bit crazy and the more you see of the world, the more you realise that “normal” just doesn’t exist.

Of course there are some crazy bits of all of us that perhaps we shouldn’t share to publicly, but the bits of us that make up who are we, that define us, are the bits we should show off and be proud of.

The minute you admit you’re a bit crazy and just get on with it, is the moment you will accept yourself just as you are and start living your life.

And even better, you might just find out there are people just as crazy as you are that can share in your chaos!

I used to say that the best people are the crazy ones, but that’s not quite it. It’s that the people who accept their craziness and get on with it, are for sure the best people, because they aren’t trying to pretend they’ve got it all figured out.

Horses are the same, the crazy ones, granted they are safe-to-ride crazy, are always the ones that teach us, that shake us, that define us, and that create the riders that shape our sport.

I have a special little man in my stable, who took months just to let me touch his nose and now, as long as he thinks no-one is watching, he will rub his face against my chest and whinny to me as I come to him.

This crazy, transfers itself to brilliance in the arena and when I can get him to remember that I’m on top of him- as sometimes he forgets- he and I can do amazing things.

The moral is stop punishing yourself for being a bit crazy, or for driving yourself nuts, just accept it, be grateful for it, and start living!



Your Core Trainer
 has a new home on Facebook… Check it out!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.